PRH Children's to publish new story collection by Christopher Paolini

Claire Coughlan
Rights - Children Thursday, 11 October 2018

Short stories set in Alagaesia will be out in January

PRH Children's and Alfred A Knopf Books for Young Readers (Random House Children's Books US) are to publish in January The Fork, The Witch, and the Worm, a new book of short stories from Christopher Paolini, bestselling author of the Inheritance Cycle. Penguin Random House Children's UK bought UK and Commonwealth rights from Cecilia de la Campa, executive director, Global Licensing, on behalf of Simon Lipskar, president of Writers House.

The Inheritance Cycle series (Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr and Inheritance) has sold more then 35m copies worldwide and has been translated into over 40 languages.

Set in Paolini's world of Alagaesia, The Fork, The Witch, and the Worm includes three original stories, interspersed with scenes from Eragon's unfolding adventure. The book includes four pieces of original art by Paolini and memoir pages from Angela the herbalist, penned by Angela Paolini, the inspiration for the character.

Paolini said: "After so many years spent working on other projects, it was an enormous pleasure to return to the world of Alagaesia with The Fork, The Witch, And The Worm. Writing about Eragon and Saphira again felt like arriving home after a long journey. These stories mean a great deal to me, and they are but the first taste of many more to come. Prepare yourselves, Dragon Riders. Things are not always what they seem..."

Francesca Dow, Penguin Random House Children's md, said: "For the millions of fans around the globe - including all of us at Penguin Random House - this return to Christopher's rich and captivating world of Eragon is a long-awaited delight, and we know that any lover of fantasy will be enthralled by this collection and the four incredible Inheritance Cycle novels they can then also go on to discover."

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »