Scottish Book Trust reveals winners of New Writers Awards 2019

News - Prizes Friday, 18 January 2019

Each of the 10 recipients will receive £2,000 cash and witing support tailored to their needs, including mentoring

Scottish Book Trust has announced the 10 recipients of the New Writers Award, which is supported by Creative Scotland.

The New Writers Awards provide a selection of talented writers who have not yet published a full length book or collection with financial support, to enable them to concentrate on developing their work, as well as professional guidance to help them move towards publication.

Each of the 10 recipients will receive a £2,000 cash award and support tailored to their needs including mentoring from writers and industry professionals, training opportunities, and the platform to showcase their work to publishers and agents. The awards also include the offer of a week-long writing retreat at Moniack Mhor.

The full list of the 2019 New Writers Awardees is:

Alice Turback
Henry Bell
Rachel Rankin

Children's and Young Adult
Bobby Finn
Sheila M Averbuch

Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction
Angela Drinnan
Heather Palmer
Nick Summers
Ross McCleary
Sarah Smith

Marc Lambert, ceo of Scottish Book Trust, said: "Congratulations to our ten New Writers Awardees, who join the likes of Graeme Macrae Burnet, Helen Sedgwick and Kirsty Logan. We're delighted to see the applications increase year on year, and it's wonderful to be celebrating a milestone ten years of the New Writers Awards. All of us at Scottish Book Trust wish the new awardees the best of luck with their projects."

Alice Turbuck said: "I am delighted and grateful to have been awarded a New Writers Award. I have always admired the work of previous winners, and I am excited to be given the time and resources to focus on my poetry."

The New Writers Showcase, a celebration of work by the New Writers Awardees of 2018, will be held on 24 January at The Jam House in Edinburgh.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »