Trapeze signs The School Run from journalist Helen Whitaker

Rights - Fiction Friday, 14 September 2018

Perils of catchment areas and competitive parents mined for comic effect by mother-of-one Whitaker


Sam Eades, Editorial Director at Trapeze, has acquired UK & Commonwealth rights to The School Run by Helen Whitaker in a one-book deal struck by Sarah Manning at The Bent Agency.

According to the acquisition statement: 'For fans of Motherland, Rev and Why Mummy Drinks, The School Run is a whip-smart comedy about how far two friends will go to get their child into the perfect school.'

Eades said: "I’m thrilled to be publishing The School Run, a story that will resonate with all parents who’ve navigated the school submissions process! Helen has such a fantastic observational eye, a flair for slapstick and most importantly, incredible warmth."

Manning said: "Everyone knows someone who has a tale to tell when it comes to the lengths parents are willing to go to get their children into the best local school, and this facet of competitive parenting feels ripe for having a comedic and relatable novel published about it. The School Run encapsulates this struggle perfectly."

Whitaker said: "Like any new(ish) parent, I am trying to balance the daily challenges of parenting with looking ahead to the next stage, which often leads down a clickhole of stories about what constitutes giving your child 'the best start'. I wanted to write about the lengths parents go to for their children, especially when it comes to navigating the competitive school catchment area, and how 'doing their best' for their children might come at the cost of someone else's child. Or, at the very least, learn the best tricks for when it's time to apply for a primary school place for my son."

Whitaker is a 38-year-old, journalist and mother-of-one living in Walthamstow. She is the former entertainment director of Glamour, and has written for a number of publications including Stella, The Telegraph, Fabulous and Total Film. She is currently acting deputy editor at British Airways' High Life magazine.

The School Run
will be published by Trapeze in ebook, audio and mass market paperback in August 2019.



Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video

home_page_chart

more charts »