Audio deal for Pauline Rowson crime series

News - Publishing Wednesday, 15 May 2019

Audio publisher B7 Media to produce audiobooks based on a new historical mystery crime series by Pauline Rowson, author of the DI Andy Horton novels

The first novel in the series, Death in the Cove, featuring Scotland Yard detective Inspector Alun Ryga, will be published this September.

According to a statement from B7: 'Death in the Cove is set in 1950s England, a country still struggling to come to terms with peace in the grip of austerity and rationing. Recently promoted to Inspector at Scotland Yard, the former Merchant Navy seaman and German prisoner-of-war Alun Ryga is despatched to the Island of Portland in Dorset to solve an unusual and baffling case.'

Rowson (pictured) said: "The 1950s is a fascinating period where memories of the war are very strong, and the fear of more world conflicts haunt people. Policing in the 1950s was vastly different to today, no mobile phones, no dashing about and no computers. Scotland Yard were frequently called in to investigate murder cases around the UK and I chose to create a detective with an understanding of the sea gained during his time in the Merchant Navy, and an insight into human nature for both good and evil as witnessed during his days of incarceration in a German prisoner-of-war camp, making him unique in his approach to solving coastal based crimes. I hope readers will enjoy investigating the baffling crimes with Inspector Ryga."

B7 Media’s executive producer Andrew Mark Sewell said: "I’ve known and admired Pauline Rowson’s marine mysteries ever since I read her debut DI Andy Horton novel, Tide of Death. Pauline is an intuitive crime writer who crafts intricate plots, real page turners, always with a distinctive coastal setting. I’m delighted that Pauline has chosen B7 Media to produce the audiobooks for her new crime mystery series."

B7 Media is an audio producer and publisher known for its Radio 4 dramatisations of Isaac Asimov’s I Robot, Ray Bradbury’s The Martian Chronicles and most recently Dan Dare: The Audio Adventures.

B7 launched its debut audiobook range in January this year with titles including Sam Meekings’ The Afterlives of Doctor Gachet, Stephanie Bull’s The Shape of Veronica and Chris Jackson’s Roger Federer: Portrait of an Artist. Forthcoming titles include Comic Book Babylon, Tim Pilcher’s kiss-and-tell about the British comic book industry of the 90s, John Altman’s (best known as EastEnders Nasty Nick) biography In the Nick of Time and vocal coach CeCe Sammy’s If You Can Speak, You Can Sing.

Rowson is the author of nineteen crime novels, fourteen featuring the 'rugged and flawed' Portsmouth detective Inspector Andy Horton, three in the mystery thriller series featuring Art Marvik, the 'troubled' former Royal Marine Commando now an undercover investigator for the UK's National Intelligence Marine Squad and two standalone thrillers In Cold Daylight and In for the Kill.

Death in the Cove will be published in paperback by Fathom Rowmark, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and Kobo and as an audiobook in September 2019.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »