David Cohen Prize 2019 judges announced

News - Prizes Monday, 15 April 2019

£40,000 lifetime achievement prize, last won by Tom Stoppard

Imtiaz Dharker, Viv Groskop, Kate Maltby, Jon McGregor, David Park, and Zoe Strimpel are to judge the 2019 David Cohen Prize for Literature, with Mark Lawson again in the chair.

The prize, given every two years and worth £40,000, is for a lifetime's achievement. It is funded by the John S Cohen Foundation. Past winners have included VS Naipaul, Muriel Spark, Doris Lessing and, in 2017, Tom Stoppard.

New Writing North manages the prize. Chief executive Claire Malcolm said: "New Writing North is immensely proud to be working with the John S Cohen Foundation to manage the 2019 David Cohen Prize for Literature. Over three decades, the prize has honoured the monumental achievements of some of the world's most remarkable literary talents – writers who have etched their words into the fabric of Britain and Ireland and gifted us incalculable quantities of inspiration. This year's judges have the daunting task of selecting another writer to join this esteemed roster of genius and we're thrilled to be alongside them on the literary journey that judging this unique prize will take them on."

The 2019 winner will be announced on 12 November.

Also on BookBrunch

Featured Video


more charts »